So if anyone thinks that travelling to and from my parents place in Saskatchewan shouldn't be a big deal, they haven't stopped at the Cactus Corner Truck Stop & Cafe, 10 kilometers outside of Hanna, Alberta. 
Hanna, as famous for geese hunting as it is infamous for spawning Nickleback, is a halfway point between Calgary and Eston, SK, the latter my hometown and where my parents still reside.

There used to be 2-3 gas stations and a KFC along the highway right of way running by the edge of the town. These days the gas stations are all closed down and only one of the buildings remains, decaying rapidly. The KFC is completely gone, without a trace of the Colonel's secret sauce to mark the spot.   

These locally run businesses couldn't compete with the big daddy for long. For not only did the Cactus Corner Truck Stop & Cafe offer assorted fuels and typical gas station fare like potato chips and bungee cords, ice scrapers and beef jerky .. they also had fried chicken! And pizza! And dry ribs and farmer sausage and corn dogs and potato wedges and sausage rolls and hot dogs and tornadoes, with ice cream for desert! Yum-hotdamn-yum.

Let's look at their treats for a moment: click here

Yup, I stopped at this den of iniquity twice, on Thursday and again today. On Thursday I didn't pay for anything except gas and a coffee. Today I bought a turkey sub, which was delicious. I would have liked to get some of that other stuff, as it was sort of a tradition.... but not this day. Okay, not entirely true: I bought some of their teriyaki beef jerky, which comes from the local area and is some of the best stuff anywhere. Oh, it's not what you think, I didn't eat any. It was for my daughter. She offered me a piece (twice) and I politely declined.

Day eight complete & still on track. Tomorrow I'll get to work out again.



Leave a Reply.